Roland Eastwood Planner of the Year 2016 – Pamela E. Houck

Pamela E. Houck, retired this summer as Zoning Manager for Lee County Community Development, and is the Promised Lands Section “Roland Eastwood Planner of the Year” recipient for 2016. Pam earned this distinction for her decades of leadership in historic preservation, planning and zoning in Florida. Pam has hired, mentored, supervised and befriended many a professional planner in the public and private sector in SW Florida. Pam’s impact – especially in the area of historic preservation – has been felt in places as diverse as Boca Grande, Buckingham, Tice and Matlacha. Pam, a Fort Myers native, has an associate of arts degree from Edison Community College (now Florida Southwestern State College) with a major in art education and minor in special education. Pam started her career in clerical and administrative positions for Lee County government in June 1967.  She served as senior planner, principal planner, zoning coordinator, zoning director, and other leadership positions in the 70s, 80s and 90s. Pam also worked for the Town of Fort Myers Beach as service development coordinator from 1999 to 2001. Pam was hired as Zoning Director for Lee County Community Development in 2001 – and stayed until her recent retirement from Lee County government. Pam and her employees were active in APA Florida, and the Florida Planning and Zoning Association (FPZA), where she often attended and spoke at their annual conferences – frequently about her adventures and insights in historic preservation in Lee County. The Promised Lands Section presents the Roland Eastwood Annual Planner of Distinction Award to one of our local planners for their outstanding service to the planning profession – typically at the joint APA/FPZA Holiday Party in December.  This year’s celebration is set for 5:30 pm Thursday December 1 at the Spirits of Bacchus in Patio De Leon in downtown Fort Myers. Eastwood was the first director of the Southwest Florida Regional Planning Council from 1974 to 1982. He served as Lee County Commissioner from 1982 to 1990.  All of the Roland Eastwood Planner of the Year Award recipients are as follow: 2000 Neno Spagna; 2001 Wayne Daltry (FAICP); 2002 Bill Spikowski (FAICP); 2003 Sharon Jenkins-Owen; 2004 Ron Lee; 2005 Glenn Ahlert; 2007 David Burr/Rep. Mike Davis; 2008 Mary Gibbs; 2009 Patricia Newton; 2010 Vince Cautero; 2011 Dan Trescott; 2012 Debrah Forester; 2013 Julia B. Davis; 2014 David Crawford; 2015 Jim LaRue; 2016 Pamela E. Houck.