2015 Jeannie Fewell Scholarship Awarded

First Coast_Scholarship

The First Coast Section is pleased to announce that this year’s award recipient for the Jeannie Fewell Scholarship is Rosario Lacayo! This scholarship program was established to honor former Jacksonville Planning and Development Director Jeannie Fewell who was a planner with an impressive record of service to the community and the planning profession. Rosario is a First Coast resident who graduated from Wolfson High School and the Florida State University and is employed fulltime as a planner at the City of Jacksonville Planning and Development Department. Rosario is currently pursuing a Masters in Urban and Regional Planning at the University of Florida – Distance Learning. On August 6, 2015 the Section bestowed the award to Rosario at a brief ceremony among her friends and colleagues at the Planning and Development Department. We are especially proud to be able to make this $2,000 award to a worthy applicant who now works in the same planning department that Jeannie Fewell once led. Pictured above from left to right are Folks Huxford (Director, Jacksonville Planning and Development Department); Don Smith, AICP (Chair, First Coast Section Scholarship Committee); Wiatt Bowers, AICP (First Coast Section Vice Chair); Rosario Lacayo; Kristen Reed, AICP (City Planning Supervisor); and Tony Robbins, AICP (Chair, First Coast Section).